jump to navigation

Choices….. November 5, 2012

Posted by boaktree in following your heart, In the Kitchen....
Tags: , ,
trackback

Pssst.  Look who decided to come out of bloggie hiding……..

Today, I want to talk to you about choices.

So recently, Anson and I came to the conclusion that it is quite costly, raising four children, not to mention keeping all of our animal friends.  And yes, Mom and Dad, I know you tried telling me this each time I got pregnant…..I finally get it, okay?  However belatedly, I do understand.

Back to the large family being costly part, though.  So, we realized this, as we have been revisiting our budget, much as we hate to do that.  And as we went over the numbers, I came to the conclusion that I needed to make a choice.  I needed to choose to either become somewhat of a financial contributor in our home again, or start saying no to my children a lot more.  I don’t really like saying no…….

And so I looked at my options.  Should I go work in my field as a Developmental Service Worker?  Go back to waitressing, because the tips are nice?  These were my main options to earn a small income, but as I worked on my resumes, I began to feel more and more downhearted.

So I took a good look into my heart, and understood clearly that it is my calling to be a Homemaker.  To be “Mama”, in the Home.   To be present for my children, first and foremost.

And I know without a doubt that the more time I am in the home, the more ways I find to save us money, which in itself makes me a contributor.  But more on this in other posts.

So I understood what was in my heart.  But what was in the heart of my family members?

I asked the older two children how they felt about me going out to work part time.

I got this answer…..

“We don’t want you to go away.  We like our lifestyle. We like You.  Isn’t there something we can work on together here to make a little extra money?  We’ll help you.”

Listening to my eager helpers, my lovely girls, I knew we had to at least give it a go.  So I got to work planning, and talked to my husband about it, asking him if he’d give us a few months to see if we could start making a small income from home.  He gave his approval, being much happier with this idea himself than he was with me working outside the home.

I feel loved, I’ll tell you that.

And so it began.  We brainstormed, and with the help of a dear friend of ours, decided on “The Plan.”  A fun little business based around an activity we enjoy, for the benefit of our furry friends.

So it looks like life will be a wee bit, or a lot, possibly, busier for us quite soon, depending on the level of our success.  But I am excited for this, as I will be busy spending some quality time with my girls, learning together along the way.

So wish us luck, friends, with our little family project.  We hope to be ready for business quite soon!

Comments»

1. Marcia Zoldy-Ure - November 5, 2012

it is great to see you blogging again ,hugs. If there is anything we can do to help you out just shot me a text. xoxox

boaktree - November 6, 2012

Thanks Marcia. Missed seeing you this weekend 🙂

2. Sandy Teetzel Rimble - November 5, 2012

Good for you Kate !! And yes….Life is about choices, look forward to more on this subject. Love ya. auntie
Good Luck

boaktree - November 6, 2012

Love you too Auntie!


Leave a Reply

